Mosaic: Journey through Advent and Christmas ~Prayers for the Second Week of Advent 2015

Mosaic: Journey through Advent and Christmas 2015

Prayers for the Second Week of Advent December 6 – December 13

Prayers contributed by the people of Faith United Methodist Church and compiled by Faith UMC’s Spiritual Formation Ministry Team.

MosaicCross.AdventPrayers

A mosaic is an artistic expression created from broken pieces brought together and made into something beautiful. In many ways, our congregation is a community of broken people brought together by God’s love and grace to build God’s Kingdom on earth. As you use this resource to prepare for the coming of Christ this Christmas, may you experience the blessing, joy and passion of this mosaic body of Christ. To God be the glory!

This Week’s Scripture Readings:  Isaiah 49:1-6, Malachi 3:1-4, Luke 1:68-79, 1 Philippians 1:3-11, Luke 3:1-6

Advent Prayer for December 6 written by Jan Baker

 Dear God,

The mosaic of our lives needs the calm of the humble stable in Bethlehem, where turmoil is transformed into your peace. With the state of the world right now I cling to the words of II Timothy 1:7 which states that YOU supply power, love, and a sound mind to banish fear. Thank you for Jesus, the Prince of Peace!

Amen.

Advent Prayer for December 7 written by Mike Wadlington

Father God,

Thank you for Jesus my Living Friend and Savior. Thank you for his birth, Resurrection and his soon return. May I live a life pleasing to you. Amen.

Advent Prayer for December 8 written by Carmie Johnson

Broken, I come before you.
In this Silent Night – when I would wish for nothing more but to hear you, loud and thunderous in your
response, you whisper.
You quietly pick up the pieces of my shattered and shaken soul and silently hold them together in your
gentle hands. These moments, though often not what I wanted, are even more so what I need…that for which my aching and bruised spirit cries out. You don’t merely attempt to fix what has been broken, but rather you weep with me as you tell me your love is more palpable than I choose to accept.

Advent is a season of waiting. Waiting for the anticipated savior. The one who will right all the wrongs and bring justice to a world that is sorely hurt. A world where victims are punished and abusers set free. It is a struggle to remain intact in such a broken world…an upside-down world. But you are steady.

Yes, we are waiting for you. But so often you are waiting for me. Waiting for me simply to be steadied by your gentle whisper. To take a long, silent, and baptizing breath and start again- knowing that I do not walk this road alone. I do not weep alone. Quietly, you stand and steady my wavering steps. You whisper, “Peace” and in all the chaos and loudness of the season, your voice echoes above the crowd.
“Peace”.
May your peace be experienced by the broken this Advent. Amen.

Advent Prayer for December 9 written by Sue Schillings

Most Gracious and Loving Father,
In this busy season of shopping for that special gift, help us to remember that it has already been
delivered.  It came unwrapped, not from a store, and not placed under a tree.  It came as the greatest gift of love we will ever know.  Help us to honor that gift by loving others; even those who are broken and
especially those who deny you.  May the grace and love you shower on us be spread throughout this
shattered world. In the name of your
precious son Jesus.  Amen.

Advent Prayer for December 10 written by Mac McLaughlin

In this season of expectation
We prepare to welcome the Messiah
Into the bustle of our lives and the hard to find moments of solitude.

We prepare to welcome the newborn Christ
Into our homes and activities
along with friends and families.

We prepare to welcome the Messiah
Into our hearts, and those often hidden parts of our lives.

We prepare to welcome Christ Jesus.
Our fears, our insecurities and our sins can be made less by the love of God and His Grace for us.

We cannot comprehend the reasoning,
only marvel that Salvation comes to us
through a baby born in a stable,
and how that birth reached out to a world in need.

In this season of anticipation and joy,
We prepare to welcome Christ Jesus, Messiah!

May we be able to give the Christmas spirit away to others.

Advent Prayer for December 11 written by John Whitacre

Dear God,
Thank you for cancer.
It was frightening, but it changed my life for the better.
I had my cancerous right kidney removed in 2010, but I blithely continued my harmful habits, eating the wrong foods and drinking too much beer. It took a second round to awaken my awareness. As a hospital registrar told me last year during one of my many visits for testing, “God will get your attention.”
You certainly did.

One minor surgery and a second major surgery later, I am a changed man. I have adopted a vegetarian
diet, stopped drinking beer, and made exercise an almost daily part of my life. I have lost a large amount of weight, and I feel better than I have felt for years.

I also feel better emotionally. I have learned to appreciate every day as a gift, and I have gained a new thankfulness for my friends and family. A life-threatening illness has a way of doing that.

I have returned to church, having learned that I can’t handle the stresses of illness and job changes alone.
I need a greater support, from you and from the church family.

Thank you for your healing power and for the abundant blessings in my life. I recovered quickly from
surgery and needed no post-surgery treatments. In that sense I was fortunate, and I pray for those who must endure radiation and chemotherapy and for those who have not experienced healing. I also pray for their friends and families because a major illness affects all those close to the afflicted person. I pray that those who are ill find comfort and love no matter the outcome.

Advent Prayer for December 12 written by Betsy Oby

 

Oh God, you have granted me another gift of life.
I pray you will guide my life now to better serve you!
Amen.

 

This Week’s Worship Mosaic Symbol.

As you engage in worship during the season of Advent and Christmas, we invite you to create a mosaic as you reflect on the scriptures, prayers, music, and message you experience. Felt mosaic worship kits will be available for use during worship or you can use your own materials at home.

As you create your mosaic we invite you to take a picture and share it through social media with the hashtag #FaithUMCAdventMosaic.

“And he said to me, ‘You are my servant, Israel, in whom I will be glorified.’ – Isaiah 49:3
“I will give you as a light to the nations, that my
salvation may reach to the end of the earth.’ Isaiah 49:6

Make a mosaic foot or hand.

Jesus came to the world a servant and calls each of us to be the hands and feet of Christ in the world today.

What kind of servant is Jesus?

How might God use you, even your brokenness and suffering, to serve and go make disciples of all nations so that God’s love may reach to the ends of the earth?

http://www.faithumchurch.org

 

 

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Spiritual Practices, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

