This is What Anointing Looks Like ~ March 2015 ~ Scriptures, Reflections, and Prayers for Faith UMC’s 2015 Mission and Vision

March 2015

This is What Anointing Looks Like

Scriptures, Reflections, & Prayers for Faith UMC’s Mission & Vision

“Mary took a pound of costly perfume made of pure nard, anointed Jesus’ feet, and wiped them with her hair.”  John 12:3

Mary showed Jesus the ultimate respect when she anointed His feet with costly perfume.  What a gift she gave Jesus – a gift no one else gave Him.

Would we do the same?

oil_11349cp (1)God anoints us to go out and serve, to spread the Good News, to use the talents He gives us to bring Jesus Christ into the lives of others.  And, we glorify Him in doing so.  It is the ultimate respect we can give Him.

Each time I serve on an Emmaus team I get commissioned to serve.  Part of the commissioning is to be anointed with oil to serve Him in whatever way He wants me to serve.  Most of the time I lead the music, the worship, the praise of our Lord on the weekend.  What a blessing it is for me to be able to do that.  I am blessing others and being blessed in return.

God gives me what I need to serve Him. He continues to provide me with a love for Him that I can share through praise and music – in Kairos, on the Praise Team, in my quiet time.  He is an awesome God.

I feel that I am giving Him the ultimate respect when I praise, when I sing, when I play an instrument, when I worship Him.

He gives us all different talents and ways to serve Him.  He anoints us, sometimes through others, to be His servants.  Go serve Him with a willing heart, knowing that you are giving Him the ultimate respect in serving Him with the talents He has given you.

Prayer: Lord, please accept our gifts as we serve you each and every day.  Help us to listen to You and to follow You – as we help others see You more clearly.  Amen. 

  Pam Wig, Faith UMC’s Devotion Resource Coordinator

March’s prayer focus: Lord of Abundance, anoint our worship ministries and choirs that we may be transformed by your grace.

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Devotions, Ministry Team Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

