Experiencing Overflowing Joy In God’s Story, In Our Story: Advent Story Week 2 2013

The Story: From Shepherd to King

“But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the Lord does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” –  1 Samuel 16:7

Slide4God knew what David could accomplish and could see his love and trust for God in his heart.  We, like Samuel, often judge people by their looks and material items.  I have been taught by my father that first impressions matter and therefore, I never was allowed to leave the house for school unless I was dressed appropriately.   I tended to think that was the way to judge people.  As I matured, I found that the first impression is not always the right impression.  In high school I worked in retail and met the most wonderful person that many would never look at twice.  She had the most wonderful heart and the more I knew her, her looks meant nothing.  This has happened to me many more times in my life and I find that if I have the patience and the willingness, I will discern that the spirit of a person is full of love and God.  My role as a Stephen Minister has helped me see the hurt and pain of individuals and to listen before I judge and my Walk to Emmaus has opened my eyes to what God can do

DOC112213-11222013145903-0001At this time of year we see many people who are in need and we look at them and judge them long before we know their situations.  I am as guilty of this as anyone.  It is my hope that my soul will allow me to see what is in their hearts and offer a way to make their Christmas and life better.  We are a society of materialism and we love our toys, but we must remember to view those less fortunate with a willing spirit to find that God is in their hearts too.

Prayer:  Dear Lord, I pray that as I meet people in this world that I will not judge them as to the outward appearance but I will remember what you told Samuel and look inside to find what is in their hearts.  I know that I will be pleasantly surprised at the goodness in the world and the love for You.  Amen

Mac McLaughlin

When have you experienced joy seeing Christ in others?

Suggested Scripture Readings for the Second Week of Advent:
Sunday:  1 Samuel 16:7
Monday:  Luke 1:24-55
Tuesday:  John 10:7-10
Wednesday:  Psalm 146
Thursday: Isaiah 40:1-11
Friday: Mark 13:24-37
Saturday:  Psalm 98
 
Click this link for additional resources and ways to experience Advent at Faith UMC:  http://faithum.weebly.com/advent.html
 
About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship, The Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

