A PSALM OF HOPE IN THE REALITY OF THIS WORLD

Sunbeams Backlighting CrossEarlier this week I attended a renewal retreat for Christian educators.  One of our assignments was to write a psalm about our reality (our challenges, struggles, etc) and lift them to God.  For me, that reality is the challenges that come from being called to support and resource people as they grow in their faith in a world rocked with tragedy. As I prayed, these words flowed from my heart. I praise God for reminding me that although we can’t make sense of all the tragedies happening around us, we can trust and hope knowing that God is there in the reality of our world! In His Light we find love, grace, hope, and strength to carry on!  God is our refuge and strength!

Praying for everyone impacted by recent tragedies.  May we all turn to God and lay the reality of our world at His feet and place our complete hope and trust in Him.

Blessings in Christ,                                                                                                                     Kathy Schmucker, Director of Christian Education & Spiritual Formation, Faith UMC

A PSALM OF HOPE IN THE REALITY OF THIS WORLD
 
Oh Lord, my God, how majestic is your name in all the earth.
Your wonders never cease to amaze me.
I see the work of your hand in the details of nature
     beautiful colors
     fascinating creatures
I see your love in the faces and hearts of children
     innocent, loving, trusting children.
Your love and grace amaze me beyond description.
I praise your mighty name!
 
But…
 
Why, oh Lord?
Explosions, gunfire, disaster, hunger
Tragedy strikes our world!
Why Oh God, why?
Doubt creeps in…
Where are you God?
How do we help people know you in the reality of this world?
How do I proclaim your name?
Give me strength to carry on, oh God!
 
In your Word you promise that even when we walk through the darkest valley you are with us.
With us always!
Help me believe it! Help me know it!
Help me to find refuge in the shadow of your wings.
Help me see your light!
Help me remember there is darkness in the world,
but darkness
even the deepest most evil darkness
can’t overcome your light and your love.
Hope is alive in you!
In Your Light, we see light!
 
And so I turn to the light and I point to the light!
I share your light!
I will hope in you Lord and keep your ways.
Trusting you with all my heart.
Knowing it is you who lifts us up.
 
In the darkness I will seek your face
I will look for your love and grace in the faces and hearts of your people,
     in the kindness of strangers
     in the helping hands of those who seek to do good
     in the midst of tragedy and heartache
     in the hearts of your children.
 
And I will point to Your light.
I will proclaim your holy name!
For in the reality of this world you are truly there!
Oh Lord, my God, how majestic is your name in all the earth.
 
 

“Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” – Isaiah 40:31

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Devotions, Discipleship, Family Connections, Spiritual Practices, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A PSALM OF HOPE IN THE REALITY OF THIS WORLD

  1. Steve Stultz Costello says:

    Kathy,
    Thank you for your psalm. A very helpful word of hope, faith and promise at this particular time when many cry out with the Psalmist “Why I Lord, Why?” Thank you.

Leave a Reply

