Great Is Thy Faithfulness – Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 33

Great Is Thy Faithfulness

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6

Last year I participated in a Rick Warren study, “Forty Days in the Word.” Through this small group study I learned methods for reading and meditating on the Scriptures. This practice enabled me to experience meaningful time alone with God and apply God’s word to my life.

One of my favorite scriptures in this study is Proverbs 3:5-6. All through my life I trusted that God would provide for me and lead me on a straight path. I learned that this path may not be the one I “think” I should be taking, but one that God has planned for me. I have looked back over the years and realized that if I had taken the easy way or the quick way, that maybe my life might have had another outcome. In retrospect I can see that God was with me during the rough times as well as the good times.  My faith never wavered and I never questioned whether God was leading my path or not.  I relied on my trust in God.

This trust in God has grown just as I have. As a young child I went to Sunday school and church every Sunday. My youth group experience helped me dig deeper into my beliefs. And as an adult my faith journey continues but now it is up to me (not my parents) to decide what I will do to encourage my faith to grow deeper.

During this season of Advent I think about all the miracles surrounding the birth of Christ. Mary and Joseph didn’t understand why God chose them, but they trusted and acknowledged God and he made their “paths straight.” Just like Mary and Joseph, I don’t have to “understand” how it all happened, I just have to trust in God and be faithful to him in everything I do. Let us remember this during the Advent season and throughout the year.

“Great Is Thy Faithfulness”

“Great Is Thy Faithfulness” (Photo credit: bluebirdsandteapots)

When thinking about the words in the Proverbs verses above, I recalled the words to one of my favorite hymns. Let us remember these words as we celebrate this special time of year.

 
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness! 
Morning by morning new mercies I see;
All I have needed, thy hand hath provided,
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!

Sharyl Syler

What comes to your mind as you read the words of the hymn printed above?  In what ways are you striving to trust God and be faithful to him?  Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your thoughts!

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Spiritual Practices and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Is Thy Faithfulness – Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 33

  1. Pingback: Great is Thy Faithfulness Bible Verse | Life Bible Verses

Leave a Reply

