Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 32

“Be strong!  Be courageous!  Never be afraid.  For the Lord God is with you.  He will neither fail you nor forsake you.”—Deuteronomy 31:6

 I think the first time I ever felt I really needed God’s generous help was not until I was ten years old.  I grew up in a loving, supportive household.  My grandparents doted without spoiling.  And even my aunts and uncles gave me great love.  Needless to say, I was very sheltered from the problems of the world around me.  So when, at age ten, I became dangerously ill with an infection in my hip, I didn’t understand why my mom or dad couldn’t just kiss my boo boo so that I could continue with my naive existence.  While in the hospital for three weeks, I learned that many people were praying for me.  What a warm feeling I felt. I realized that they prayed because they truly felt that God would protect me, that He would never fail me.  I, myself, began to pray heartfelt prayers that soon included more needy people than just myself.  And I have never stopped praying for strength, courage, and especially, for those going through difficult times.

The Theotokos of Vladimir, one of the most ven...

The Theotokos of Vladimir, one of the most venerated of Orthodox Christian icons of the Virgin Mary. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My experience mirrors that of Mary, Jesus’ mother, since we both needed to understand that God would give us the strength and courage we needed in each of our situations.  Mary must have prayed continuously for these attributes during her pregnancy, the trip to Bethlehem, and the birth of her baby, God’s child, our Savior.  She trusted God knowing He would neither fail nor forsake her.  And, He didn’t.  She continued her strong belief in God’s word and promise throughout her life.

These words, in different variations, are found throughout the Bible, reminding each of us that if we only trust Him, He will provide us with the strength and protection we need in all situations.  I keep this comforting scripture in my heart every day.  How it frees me of stress, fear, and cowardice.  Thanks be to God!

Lord, thank You for the courage You give us to travel our daily paths without fear and with strength knowing that You are with us always.  Thank You for your precious gift of our Savior, born of a woman who truly followed You with courage and faith.  Amen

Judy McLaughlin

When have you experienced God with you? Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your story!

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

