Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 30

DOC093012-09302012114610-0020“Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it. And God has placed in the church first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then miracles, then gifts of healing, of helping, of guidance, and of different kinds of tongues.”                            I Corinthians 12:27-28

Have you ever wondered about what purpose God has for you?  I have and often wondered where I fit in.  These verses help to put it into perspective.  We all have been given special abilities as the scripture describes.  My husband, Jim, calls me his caring person.  So as I look back over my life’s journey I do see my place is to care about and to be a caregiver to others.  Not only to my immediate family but the members of God’s family.  Sometimes it can be overwhelming but is definitely rewarding and I enjoy it.

I had the privilege to be a caregiver to four very special women in my life.  My mother, Mary, my mother-in-law, Emma, my Aunt Martie and my dearest friend, Lynn.  The times spent with them, sharing their experiences, faith and wisdom, and gaining insight into my family history definitely helped to guide me on my faith journey.  I gave them the care they needed but they gave me so much more.  I treasure those times and miss them.

Even though I no longer have them to care for, there always seems to be someone or something else in need so I still am doing what I believe God has designed me to do.  I do try to see the best in others and put myself in their situations to try and understand their feelings.  I hope that I have set a good example for our children and grandchildren so that they too will find God’s calling whatever it may be.

I pray that I can continue and be a part of the body of Christ.

Dear Lord, Help us all to be all that you want us to be.  Help us to listen to your calling and then have the courage to go an ahead with the challenge.  Let us follow Christ’s teachings to be more like him.  In Jesus’ name we pray.  Amen

Chris Bednar

How is God calling you to use your gifts and abilities to be stewards of His grace? Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your thoughts and comments.

 

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Family Connections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

