Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 28

Walking By Faith

2 Corinthians 5:7, “For we walk by faith, not by sight,” (HCSB)

After I graduated high school, I was blessed to receive a generous scholarship that helped to pay for my undergraduate work.  This scholarship was a wonderful blessing; however one of the stipulations of receiving it was that I would take six weeks of summer classes prior to my freshman year.  On the second day of classes I received a phone call from my mother that altered my understanding of God and helped shape me into the man I am today.

My mother told me that my dad had been diagnosed with bladder cancer and he would be undergoing surgery in two days to try and remove it.  I remember the feeling in the pit of my stomach that day as I thought about what could potentially happen to my father.  I thought about life without him and the struggle that would be for me and my future children to grow up not having a grandfather.  I began to question God about why He would let something like this happen to me and found myself growing angry with God.  However, in the midst of my frustration, I kept hearing a small voice whispering, “Walk by faith, not by sight.”  This helped to comfort me a little bit, but I was still internally wrestling with the thought of potentially losing my dad.

When the surgery day came I sat anxiously in the waiting room for the doctor to return only to hear that they were unable to get all of the cancer and my dad would have to undergo another surgery, in a couple of weeks.  I felt so angry at the doctors and nurses who had worked on my dad just hours before, but I still heard that faint whisper, saying “Walk by faith, not by sight.”

When the second surgery came, I recall sitting down with several of my new friends and classmates in the waiting room having prayer for the duration of my dad’s surgery.  I remember disregarding my own feelings of infuriation that my father was having to go through this and started relying more on God to perform a miracle and heal my dad.  In those moments of prayer with my family and classmates, I could still hear that little voice whispering “Walk by faith, not by sight.”

manger.crossEleven years have passed now and I am thankful to the doctors and nurses who cared for my dad during this challenging time in our life.  I am thankful for the friends who surrounded our family in prayer and supported me despite my own fears and frustrations.  I am thankful for my dad, his life, and that he is still a part of mine.  But most importantly, I am thankful for God never giving up on me and continuously (even today) whispering in my ear, “Walk by faith, not by sight.”  As we continue to grow in our faith journey with Jesus we must cling to these words that even in the most difficult times we need to walk by faith, not by sight.

God, please grant me the wisdom to walk by faith and not by sight throughout my life.  May I focus on You and Your goodness despite my own circumstances, trusting that you will work everything to the good of your glory.  Amen

Matt Hart

In what ways are you walking by faith? Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your story.

To read more about Matt’s faith story, check out his blog at http://refuge-faithumc.blogspot.com/

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Day 28

  1. Pingback: Ego’s are always humbled eventually… | Rev. Lei's Daily Rant

Leave a Reply

