Christmas Eve – Advent Devotion Day 23

Christmas Eve

“Like good stewards of the manifold grace of God, serve one another with whatever gift each of you has received.” – 1 Peter 4:10

What does it mean to be good stewards of the manifold grace of God?  What in the world does THE MANIFOLD GRACE OF GOD even mean?  I don’t know that we ever receive the complete and fully understood answers to these questions.  But, there are those experiences in life when the One who became visible among us in the birth of Jesus of Nazareth becomes vivid in our hearts and minds.

During a summer break from college, on staff at Camp Alta Mons in the beautiful mountains of Shawsville, Virginia I had one of those vivifying experiences.  Working with kids from a wide range of socio-economic backgrounds, I saw just how powerful the manifold grace of God is.  Nearly every week I saw lives transformed as kids learned about and experienced the love of God in Jesus Christ.  The Good News of God’s love and grace that I had grown up taking for granted was the difference between life and death for those who had never heard or recognized the experience of it before.

By the end of the summer I was wrestling with a call to ministry.  I didn’t know if I was called to pastoral ministry or something else as a lay person but I knew that I had a responsibility to share the life-changing, life-saving Good News of Christ with others.  In other words, I knew I was called to be a good steward of the manifold grace of God serving others with whatever gifts I had received.

CoverIn this season of Advent as we anticipate the miracle of Christmas, let us ponder anew the significance of this amazing act of grace, God becoming one of us and what we will do as stewards of this Good News.

God of abundant grace, prepare my heart this day for the many ways you enter the world and ordinary life. Let my voice join the heavenly hosts in singing Joy to the World!

Pastor Steve Stultz Costello

What does it mean to you to be a steward of God’s grace? How will you share the Good News of God’s love and grace?  Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your thoughts!

 

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Eve – Advent Devotion Day 23

  1. Pingback: Act of Grace Devotion – January 2013 | Journey into Faith – Learning, Loving, Leading at Faith UMC

Leave a Reply

