Faith Lift – Advent Day 21

Faith LiftDOC093012-09302012114610-0038

“At that time Mary got ready and hurried to a town in the hill country of Judea, where she entered Zechariah’s home and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.  In a loud voice she exclaimed: “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the child you will bear! But why am I so favored, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy.  Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!”   Luke 1:39-45

 When Mary visited her cousin, Elizabeth, Elizabeth felt a “Faith Lift” from within as her baby leapt in her womb.  As a man, I cannot personally say that I have ever had such a feeling from within.  However, there have been many times in my life when I have felt a “Faith Lift”.

I had given up on  finding someone to share my life with. When I told God that he was in charge, I met Martha and experienced a faith lift.  When my children were born and I was able to cut their umbilical cords, I felt a faith lift.  When the congregation is fully engaged in a song and the energy is flowing out of everyone, I always experience a faith lift.  When I am helping someone to do something that they might not expect anyone to help them with, I get a faith lift (and I hope that I give one, too).  When I smile at someone and get a smile in return, I hope that I am giving a faith lift.

Maybe we could all do a better job giving faith lifts to others if we think of ourselves wearing a t-shirt that says “Ask me about my Faith Lift”!

Dear Lord Jesus, Help us all to experience the faith lift that only you can provide. Help us to reach out to others in our church, in our communities and throughout the world so that they can experience the Faith Lift of your promise to us!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Joe Richards

In what ways have you experienced a faith lift? Click leave a comment to share your story!

 

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

