Peace – Advent Day 20

Peace

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  – John 14:27

“And Mary said:  “My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant. From now on all generations will call me blessed …” – Luke 1: 46-48

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders.  And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”  – Isaiah 9:6

When I was a freshman in college at Baldwin-Wallace, I experienced what probably many students experience at some level during early time away from parents, family and friends.  I was excited to be on my own and learning, but the world sometimes felt really big and a little lonely.  I made friends through roommates and classes, music and even a trial season of track, but a lot of the time was spent searching.   One of the groups I got involved with was a Christian faith group that some of my roommates also attended.  It was a nice connection with others, but it also really helped to deepen my spiritual life and my connection with God.  I spent free time in prayer and writing to God my thoughts and questions as well as time reading the Bible.

In the spring of my sophomore year, I was in the midst of a lot of stress.  It was near finals week for a pretty heavy class schedule.  I had recently learned that my sister (also a BW student) had really injured her ankle and might need assistance in the last weeks to get around campus.  My mom had called to tell me that our family had received word that the home we had lived in for the last ten years would no longer be home as my dad was reassigned from our Methodist church in Tiffin to preach at a church in Alliance.  Finally, my aunt who had been battling breast cancer for a few years had passed away. This was the second sister she had lost in recent years to cancer.  In the midst of all of this, I still remember one afternoon walking down the hallway toward my room and being overwhelmed with the deepest, most perfect sense of peace I have ever experienced in my life.  It was like nothing I had felt before, or have truly felt in such a way since and I believe it was God with me.  I knew everything would be alright, even though I had no confirmation or “proof” in my own understanding.  I could not see around the corner into my future, or know that the move to Alliance would be a blessing on my life as I met Dan (my husband) at church in Alliance a few weeks later.

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

God’s peace is not of this world and is truly amazing.  I think of Mary’s joy and praise in Luke, Chapter 1 and can hear the joy in her words.  This is from a girl who had every reason to fear based on the current circumstances of her life.  God was with her and there was no room for fear.  For unto us a Son is Given, the Prince of Peace.  Thanks be to God.

Most Holy God, we praise you for your Goodness and your ways.  Please help us to make room in our lives to feel your presence and your peace so that you may lead us in your grace.  Thank you for your son Jesus, in whose name we offer our prayers and praises to you.  Amen.

Sarah Griffith 

In what ways have you experienced the Peace of Christ? Click leave a comment to share your story!

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

