You’re Kidding, Right? – Advent Day 17

You’re Kidding, Right?

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May it be to me as you have said.”Luke 1:26-38

If someone came up to me and said, “Hey there! You’re going to have a baby….you are going to be shunned by your community, looked down upon by all, your fiancé is no longer going to want to marry you and basically life as you know it will be over.”

I’m pretty sure my response would not be “I am the Lord’s servant”. It would probably go something like “Are you kidding me? You got the wrong lady. How do I get out of this? Where can I get off this crazy-train?”

DOC093012-09302012114610-0065Mary’s response is astounding. Her deep trust and faith that the Lord knows what He is doing is inspiring. When things seem out of control in my life and nothing is going smoothly, it is so easy to say “Let me off of this crazy train!” But like Mary, our response should be “May it be to me as you have said.” Often, what God asks of us isn’t always easy. It isn’t the peaceful stroll next to the quiet river. Often it is a bumpy ride on a rickety boat in the raging storm. In these moments we can remember that God is trustworthy and that we can find rest in our faith. It is in these moments that we remember that we are the Lord’s servant.

God, may the response of our hearts and the actions of our lives mirror the faithful response of Mary. May we, too, respond to your requests with an enthusiastic “I am the Lord’s servant. May it be to me as you have said!” Amen.

Carmie Johnson

When has God asked you to do something that wasn’t easy? How did your response impact your faith journey?  Click ‘leave a comment’ to share your thoughts!

 

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

