Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Advent Day 14

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.“
Hebrews 11-1

The Flight into Egypt by Giotto di Bondone (13...

The Flight into Egypt by Giotto di Bondone (1304-06, Scrovegni Chapel, Padua). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As this Christmas Season approaches I always think of the faith that Mary had in God who told her she was carrying his Son. She was a virgin, yet pregnant, and had to have faith that her family, Joseph and her friends would accept her and understand the importance of her unborn child. In addition, as they traveled to Bethlehem, she had to have faith that God would provide for them a place to rest and sleep and a place to give birth to her baby. Think of the faith Mary had and the blessing of our Savior she brought into the world.

As I have aged I understand how much my faith is becoming more secure. There have been too many instances where the impossible turned out right and it is because of my faith and the power that gave me. I have learned to worry about situations a lot less because of my growing faith in God. Like Mary, all of us hope for God’s influence in our lives, showing us a way to do something that we may have thought impossible. There have been many instances in my life that I have had to turn situations over to my faith. Sometimes the answer came in a different way but often turned out to be a better growing and maturing experience.

I had an amazing experience on the Mission Trip this year and got so much more from it than I put into it. It was a life changing outcome. I went into that trip with a great deal of excitement but a great deal of fear and anxiety also. I had to rely on my faith and was sure God would guide me through the week and He did.

It takes time and patience but when you rely on your faith, something unseen but certain, you will gain confidence and have a less stress- filled life. As we approach the Christmas Season, wouldn’t the best gift be the realization of what faith can mean in your life?

Dear God: Thank you for your presence in my life and the assurance that you are with me in all situations. Give me the faith that Mary felt in the birth of our Savior. Thank you for all the gifts you have given me and remind us all that everyone has a gift to give of their talents.

Mac McLaughlin

How has the example of Mary and Joseph inspired your faith journey?  Click ‘leave a comment’ or ‘reply here’ to share your thoughts.

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

