Sharing Our Stories On The Journey Of Faith – Advent Day 10

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.  – Luke 1:38

DOC093012-09302012114610-0066

In the Gospel of Luke 1:38, Mary responds to the angel who has just brought her earth shaking news that will change her life and the world forever by saying, “I am the Lord’s servant and I am willing to accept whatever He wants.”  WOW!  I want to let go and be able to say those words without reservation, knowing that the future directed entirely by God will be filled with His joy, peace, and love.

On my Faith Journey I have said those words in times of deep sorrow (at the sudden death of my father and then again a close friend), and at times of pain and fear (when confronted with breast cancer 13 years ago).  The result was an overwhelming feeling and bone-deep knowledge that I was not alone no matter what happened.  I loved that feeling!  But to say the words, “Whatever You want God,” when all is going well in my life is another matter.  At the moment I continue to say it with reservation as if God might put me somewhere I can’t handle and have no control over.  As my journey continues it has been extremely helpful to participate in a small group with Christian friends who understand my reservations and push me ever so slightly to move forward in my faith.  I know that God has positioned them and me to support and love each other in whatever may befall us in this world, and to stay on the journey together.

In this Christmas Season of great Joy, I thank God for the faith Mary exemplified and pray that my journey continues until I can say “Whatever You want God,” on a daily basis.

Dear Lord, as we continue on  together give me strength to take the next step, wisdom to stay close to you, and joy as I celebrate every bit of the journey with you. Amen.

Sandy Vaughn

In what ways are you moved by Mary’s faithful obedience as she responds to God’s call? Click ‘leave a comment’ or ‘reply here’ to share your thoughts and comments.

About faithumchurch

Spiritual Formation Director at Faith United Methodist Church in North Canton, Ohio
This entry was posted in Advent, Devotions, Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

